Interview With Rubberboy Part 1, Is This NY Times Material?

Rubber boy

Rubber boy

Just like the Elephant Man, Rubberboy has had it rough. He is visibly a freak of nature. But now that we know there is something that is intentionally causing this, we can openly discuss how it has effected him emotionally. I have called several

Interviewer:
Rubberboy, can I call you Rubberboy.

Rubberboy: Please do. I prefer to keep my real name out of this.

Interviewer: Where are you from originally?

Rubberboy: Daton, Ohio.

Interviewer: How was it growing up in the Mid-West?

Rubberboy: It was very tough. I had to hide my body because of the huge mass at the bottom of my butt, as well as my cork, bow hole (which I was able to have removed), etc. This did not allow me to bond with my peers. My family was ashamed and could not deal with me. I was instructed to spend as little time in public as possible. I was dealing with very small minded people and became very depressed. But this was my life. Until very recently I was alone. Now that people know about the Z Factor, I have been embraced by others who share the same affliction. But I suppose it would be tough anywhere, not only living in the Mid-West.

Interviewer: How did you deal with puberty. There is so much going on with people who are “normal”. This must have been very tough.

Rubberboy: Yes. I was fortunate to develop a friendship with this one girl in my history class in high school, but it really couldn’t go very far. Her parents found me “odd” and discouraged her from pursuing any kind of relationship. I didn’t start having sex until I started to meet other people like me. That is when my world changed completely.

Interviewer: How so?

Rubberboy: It was around 2002. I was on the Internet and started seeking out people like me. I was one of the lucky ones. My parents protected me from the authorities and I was not one of the ones who was discovered and shipped off to Bakers island. I found pockets of people disguising themselves as “normal” and was able to get in touch with them. Pretty soon my network grew and I was able to have a social life. I ended up moving to Cincinnati where there were many more of us. Upon meeting my fellow umons I learned a great deal.

Interviewer: I’m curious as to what you learned.

Rubberboy: I learned that I was not alone.

More to come…

Any thoughts and comments whether they be positive or negative about this blog are more than welcome.

What do you think about this situation? Is the world really changing for the better or the worse?

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and Circe, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

