Dinosaurs, Pavement, Bookstores and The Whitney Biennial

unnamed-2

 

This is funny and has nothing to do with my kvetching:

I have always told visual stories. Always a flair for writing but  considered myself a visual artist. Now that I have finally figured out how to put the two together, the main venue is rapidly changing. I’m guilty of it as well. Yesterday I went on Amazon to order a book that normally costs $15 and bought it for $1.25. S&H was an additional 3.95. I suppose they have to make money somehow since they’re selling and shipping the book.

I remember  pounding the pavement searching for galleries to show my work, art directors to give me a job and now my search is finding agents, bookstores and publishers. I was warned about the downside and prejudice concerning indie publishing. And then there are the success stories of how people self-publish, get agents and jobs, happen into a gallery and get shows, or meet an art director who puts their work on the cover of a main stream magazine. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had/have my moments in the spot light and creating The Z Factor is huge. My book signing this coming Thursday at Forbidden Planet, NYC is awesome. It’s just that peddling ones wares used to be more cut and dry. The Internet has indeed changed the world. Oh how I long for the days to get the pavement back.

My review of the Whiney Biennial: Yesterday I went to the Whiney Biennial and was happy to see that they have included more paintings than the previous years. I think painting is making a comeback. Also among the mix there were many more artists who were middle age. For a long time the Biennial was dominated by very young artists. It’s good to see the mix. I think younger artists are great because they have a fresh take on the struggles they are encountering just because they are young. Artists that are seasoned are much more developed and it shows in the work. So when you combine the two it makes for a good mix. And there were artists showing that were actually dead too!!! I suppose the curators felt that they are relevant to the contemporary art scene.

Bringing it back to The Z, I wonder if they they knew about Hans, would he have been included?

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and Circe, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in LGBT, LGBTGO, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

