Old Age Sucks…

sunset

I remember talking to my grandmother many years ago. She looked up at me and said “I can’t believe I’m old.” At the time I didn’t realize the impact that age has on people after a certain point. Everyone I talk to who is my age or older is either looking to retire, can’t retire, jobs are drying up, diabetes has set in as well as other diseases, can’t remember things, etc. If you are single the dating pool is very slim. This was just sent to me a few days ago in an email:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/robin-korth/sex-over-50_b_5563576.html?utm_hp_ref=tw

If you read or have read the article you will realize how screwed up things are. But some people do subscribe to the big Hollywood facade of beauty and how to preserve it. I remember when they were filming Sunset Boulevard, they took Gloria Swanson out of retirement to play the lead. She at the time was 50. A demented old starlet…at 50. Well at least there are more roles for older women now a days rather than back then. It’s really very sad when you think about it. Anyway, although the article is about a straight experience, I find it to be very interesting. The mind set behind the whole thing is very typical youth oriented society.

BullDog

Then you have the other side of the spectrum: http://www.nytimes.com/2014/07/16/arts/design/frimkess-ceramics-have-their-moment-at-hammer-museum.html?_r=0

And again I ask myself the question why weren’t they in the biennial years ago? Does age play into it or is it really about the art? Judging from experience age, race and gender does play a big roll in the art world. I remember back in the 90’s when I was chosen for a mural project along with 9 other artists, the Daily News came by. The photographer pulled one of the artists over to take his picture. The artist in question was in his 20’s, male, long hair and I suppose the quintessential artist one would imagine an artist to look like at the time. I was so insulted I actually approached the photographer and told him that there were other artists who won the award, not just one. If he wants to take a photo he should take it of all of us. He looked a little shocked but did just that.

Anyway there are exceptions to every rule and I’m still trying my hand at it. Don’t get me wrong I’m not anti-youth, just anti- discrimination.

 

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and Circe, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in LGBT, LGBTGO, Poetry, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

