Neo Noir…

GrossScreenShot2013

 

For all you TV buffs I just got finished watching True Detective. Last year I was a Breaking Bad fan. For some reason I’m not into Criminal Minds. I suppose it’s because it gets into my psyche and really disturbs me. Funny because the other two shows which I became addicted to were very disturbing as well. I think the acting and character development in TD and BB are one of the reasons why they are so addicting.

Reading: I just finished book 3 of Sin City, just in time for the film release. Also read book two which is what the film is based on.

Also within the last several years “Low-Brow” art has become incredibly popular. What I like about it it that it combines illustration and fine art. But again some of the subject matter is quite disturbing. I think that is part of the draw to this genre. They are very well  done and you can escape into these worlds and learn a little about them.  I myself  become a visitor so to speak. I admire the craftsmanship of the media(s.) Television has moved more towards film and illustration/fine art have blurred the lines as well. Perhaps it’s indicative to the times in which we live.

My exhibition in Heidelberg next year will be about this as well. A Neo-noir graphic novel sequel to The Z Factor. That’s why I am urging everyone to read The Z. It’s the prelude to the show.

Again science fiction becomes reality.

 

 

 

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and Circe, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in LGBT, LGBTGO, Poetry, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

