Visiting The Town And Other Challenges…

blacktobacsignIMG_0479

I believe the above photo is the back side of Heidelberg Castle. It is supposedly one of the most beautiful castles in Germany. Sandy and I wandered through Old Town and took a few photos. We have the castle on the agenda. The guy on top is a sign for a pipe store.

We met this wonderful woman who spoke English and lives here in Dilsberg, while waiting for the bus. She basically took us into Heidelberg which was something like 2 buses and 2 trains. Since I’m used to driving, this is a challenge. But I’ll get used to it and hopefully when the weather warms up, I may even find it delightful.

My good friend Claudia Brieske is having a show mid march in Saarbrucken, which is also on the list of things to do. So I’m rethinking a trip to Poland. It’s a bit too far and since we just arrived here, the thought of it is a bit overwhelming.

As you can see the Internet is up and I’m posting to FB as well. We decided to take this day and set up

The people here in Dilsberg are really nice. We are surrounded by an old fort so no invaders can come through. Turns out this place is older than medieval times so please note the correction. There is a cafe at the bottom of our street. The hill is very steep so there will be no lack of exercise. I think it even did Sandy in for a few hours.

Since this is Europe everything is very different. Yesterday I somehow managed to make chicken soup. Today we couldn’t get the stupid hot plate/stove to work. Had to ask Frau Miriam before she ran off. Turns out you have to put the pan or pot on for the stupid thing to work. I also somehow managed to turn the heat down in my room and I think I managed to shut it off. Been struggling with that as well.

I will also be posting some of the drawings I will be creating and progress once things are happening.

On another note, Rose Metal wanted me to alert all you poetry fans that  you can pre-order In The Circus Of You.

http://www.rosemetalpress.com/Catalog/inthecircusofyou.html

I think they said something about free shipping as well.

Anyway tomorrow we are supposedly being “presented” to the powers that be and there is going to be a huge reception. Perhaps by that time I will have the heat working again and a decent studio space.

Ivan is back and facing his own challenges…

https://greetingsfromkarpland.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post-new.php

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and Circe, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in LGBT, LGBTGO, Poetry, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Visiting The Town And Other Challenges…

  1. sherry lane says:

    Love the photos and the preview of the new book! Keep posting. love Sherry

  2. sandy says:

    LUCKY!!

  3. Arun says:

    I am glad you are having a good time regardless of all the little challenges. Two trains + two busses sounds worse than JC 😀

    Hey, it’s the old continent!

  4. cherylgross says:

    Yep! At some point I have to get to Saarbrucken for my friends show. Miss you!

  5. Denise Wallner says:

    Everything looks so cool. Are there still rooms and such in Heidelberg Castle, or is it just the existing exterior walls. Google Earth did not give me any kind of interior view.

    Have fun you two.

  6. cherylgross says:

    I think it’s just the walls. They rebuilt the building so there are a lot of rooms dedicated for other things. They took away the iron maiden.

Leave a Reply

