Missing The Bus…5.8km walk home…Uphill!



Yesterday we decided to take the bus and go to this festival in Neckargarmund, which is the next “big” town and where we catch the train to Heidelberg. So we decide to get off the bus and check out this festival. Found a Saturday (Samstag) farmers market which was great. Then since we were a bit early for this festival, we decided to do the weekly shopping and walk down to the supermarket. We  walked back to town to see if the festival was indeed on. It wasn’t very interesting. Just a bunch of people wearing these stupid costumes they threw together and painted their faces to look skeletal. I was expecting people in Medieval costumes, but no. They also scream at people as they walk by. Figuring we had some time to kill before the next bus, coffee was in order. We found ourselves at this very dark, dank bar. It smelled of cigarettes and alcohol, but everyone was very nice, odd but nice. 

 

IMG_3870

Then we figured we could take the bus back to Dilsberg which is WAY up the top of the hill. We were standing at the bus stop and some woman told us in German that the bus wasn’t stopping there. So I asked a cop and he said the bus service was suspended for 3 hours due to the festival (what festival?) He told us to walk. We considered going back to the station and cab it, but ended up walking. Lucky it was a beautiful day. Otherwise I would have been miserable. But I have to hand it to Sandy. She was really good with the walk. Other than the fact that we were trying not to stroke out. It was the breathing that was getting to us. Most people heat their places with wood which seems to be a bit wearing on the lungs at times.

IMG_3872

It’s 5.8 km. There were 2 hills I thought were nearly impossible. Thank god I don’t smoke because it would’ve taken me days to do it. Anyway what this stupid cop neglected to tell us was that the buses were running just rerouted. As we trudged  up the hill 2 past us. Just goes to show you that cops are the same everywhere. I’m sure he got a good laugh when he saw the look on my face.

IMG_3882

 

But it was a very interesting walk. We bumped into this woman who we keep meeting. She speaks English and is a real delight. She too was walking but downhill. We also past lots of older people who were joyously walking as well… down hill. Seems like there are a lot of artists that live around here:

IMG_3883

We past some pretty interesting small exhibitions along the way.

IMG_3876

Here I am a bit overdressed. By the time we reached the top of Feste Dilsberg, I pealed off the hat and scarf. I almost stripped off some layers, but since I was carrying groceries, didn’t want to burden myself any more than I had to. Figure I’d just sweat it out which I did.

This one is my favorite:

IMG_3880

IMG_3881

Turns out it took us I believe around an hour or more.

IMG_3871

Nectar river. Someone defiled this poor woman and child. This part was flat so it was easy to walk.

IMG_3885

This is where I really got excited. It was also the second steep hill to get past, but we were basically in town at this point. You can see the steeple in the background.

We managed to make our way to PiPiFax our local cafe. We indulged in Radler (beer and Sprite, it’s actually very good.)

The best part about this was the fact that we didn’t get lost and we actually made it. The groceries weren’t too heavy, (thank god we didn’t buy the 3 lbs. of carrots, the bag of potatoes were bad enough.) Now that I know I can do a 5.8km walk uphill, I’m good. Hopefully won’t have to do it again.

My next challenge is getting sandy to read the Fahrplan correctly so we don’t miss the bus again. That and visiting the Heidelberg Castle. I think we have to make a reservation to get inside but not too clear on that one. One website says to make reservations, the other says all we have to do is buy the tickets. My cousin Jeff  is coming and I thought this would be a nice thing to do.

Almost finished with the 3rd drawing. I’ll post it later. By the time you all wake up it should be up. If not check later.

https://greetingsfromkarpland.wordpress.com

 

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and Circe, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in LGBT, LGBTGO, Poetry, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Missing The Bus…5.8km walk home…Uphill!

  1. sandy says:

    Looks gorgeous too.

Leave a Reply

