Heidelberg Continued…R.I.P. Leslie Gore…

IMG_0463

IMG_0466

Turns out the caves are fairly far so this may be a trip left to later on. Our show is April 17th. That leaves us with a little time to travel. So it is a possibility. On the schedule there is the trip to Saarbrucken to see Claudia’s show. I think Poland is out of the question. Too much and too far. That is probably best left for another time. I’m such a restless soul and want to see everything and do everything. I think renting a car would be the best way to do all this, but that is not in the budget.

I think it’s good that I’m here on this hill where there is very little distraction. Have gotten a lot of work done, doing yoga everyday (OK almost everyday) and meditating. Getting a lot of rest and thinking about the next phase of the graphic novel.

I’m very pleased with the way things are developing with the drawings. Been adding a bit of water color and limiting the content on the pages so they aren’t too overwhelming. There is a huge difference between what I’m doing here as opposed to at home. I have not strayed from the continuity. There are still borders and soon will divide into chapters or sections. May call it something else. Perhaps divisions, plans, any word that divides sections.

IMG_3824

These 2 guys were pretty amazing. Sandy thought it was fake but I think it’s a Zen thing. Get into the zone and balance. I’m sure they could’ve made it up the hill with no problem. But then again they weren’t carrying groceries. I laugh about it now, but at the time it was one of those things you don’t expect. And me being me I don’t take well to surprises. Especially when I’m not familiar with the terrain. But memory served us well and following the bus route along with very signs and landmarks pointing us in the right direction, we were good. So good in fact (I spoke about this previously) we are willing to do it again.

Ghosts: Can’t seem to pin point who it is who haunts this place. I searched the net but with very little luck. Seems as if there may be more than one. I would think from different eras since this place is older than dirt.

Another exciting fact is that they light the graveyard at night with electric candles. We can see it from Sandy’s window. She has the better view. I have the larger room with better heat. At first I thought since the view is better, it would be more inspiring. But since I’m creating an off color graphic novel, as it turns out I can grab bits and pieces from my photos and experiences, which I have been doing. A little bit of Heidelberg has crept into Greetings from Karpland. Especially the first week we arrived. Boy was that a clusterfuck.

Just found out that Leslie Gore passed away. There goes another bit of my childhood. I loved her music.

Ivan is back with half a drawing and a lot to say:

https://greetingsfromkarpland.wordpress.com

Anyway…back to work!

 

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and Circe, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in LGBT, LGBTGO, Poetry, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

