Saarbrücken and Claudia Brieske…

IMG_4204I’m back from the Saarland and had an amazing experience. I did my first residency there about 20 years ago at the Kunstlerhaus which was a wonderful experience. Saarbrücken is a small city and full of art. There is a dance theater and lots of activity.

IMG_4178My friend Claudia Brieske, an amazing installation artist had an opening Friday evening. It consisted of sound, performance and took place in the courtyard of the gallery. She projected images on the walls and it was spectacular. I’m sure there will be documentation posted at some point. I myself took around 30 minutes on my iPhone.IMG_4215

IMG_4189So inspiring. It’s hard to describe unless you actually see the show. I believe its on for a few weeks so if you get to Germany, it’s at the StadtGallerie in Saarbrücken. Starts after dark.

So after I returned home I decided to revisit my motion work. Fixed what was bothering me. I showed Claudia the rough version and she had a few great pointers. I basically agree with most of it. I’m waiting for it to render now. I was up until around 2, and continued until now. The preliminary version was good enough, but why not try to make it great?

Anyway I visited some of my favorite places like Ludwigplatz and the big white church. We use to have coffee and beer outside after work when I was there. All in all it’s great to see Claudia and let’s not forget Sigrun who is also a fantastic artist.IMG_4176Francesca (performance aspect and singer of the installation) and Claudia stressing over the fact if everything will work or not.

IMG_4233IMG_4166IMG_4182And that was my weekend. Since I’ve been here in Germany, aside from my own work, I have been attending classical music concerts and small music venues that I would not necessarily be exposed to in the US. It’s a real treat. There is a school in Mannheim that is very important. Lots of great musicians come here and perform. Then we have PippiFax who books others from around the world and sells’s their CD’s. movingtoMali

Here is another drawing that I produced here. It’s part of chapter 4. Still have to find a venue for the book.

Anyway tomorrow we will discuss our show card and meet with the photographer. I’m also thinking (by way of Claudia’s suggestion) for the show, have the flat screen outside. Surprisingly the powers that be are very open to it!

Ivan is back but right now a little tired. So he’ll be blogging soon.

Stay tuned….

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and The Poster Reads; ACTIVE SHOOTER EVENT, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in LGBT, LGBTGO, Poetry, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

