Learning To Live With What We Create. Learning to Create From What We Do.

IMG_4238

More fog. Seems as if we live in a cloud in the morning. Can’t see your hand in front of your face. But there is something to be said about this. I remember the day before Hurricane Sandy, while walking the dog around 5AM, I had the same feeling. I knew something was coming and could feel it getting stronger. I suppose it’s about giving  up control and allowing the elements to do their thing, surrender and trust. That’s what the birds represent in my drawings, trust.

IMG_4241

Yesterday we went into Heidelberg with Dorothea (staff photographer) to visit and have breakfast at Roswitha’s studio. Roswitha Josefine Pape is a print maker and connected to the Kommandantenhaus where we are staying. We discussed our show card. Sandy and I came up with the title of this blog for our theme. Since our work, although very different addresses unnatural change. She came up with the first sentence, me the other.

Anyway Roswitha lives in a converted bakery. It’s pretty awesome. Reminds me of the 70’s and 80’s when artists lived in storefronts and huge lofts. This is before Bloomberg and Condo Cancer got a hold of us.

And as I mentioned in the last time I blogged, seeing Claudia’s work was all inspiring. I worked furiously through the day and into the night, trying to perfect (or as much as I could considering the limitations to working on a small laptop.) Then waking up and going to Heidelberg breakfast, then back to work again. As I rendered out the last one (seemed I rendered at least five or six quicktimes), I realized an entire section was missing. It was a not too easy fix, but a fix non-the-less. Looks like it fits so things are looking up. Now I’m wondering if I should render it out in PAL, which is the format here in Europe. But everything works on their lap top so it may not be necessary. Also takes hours. Then the stress of something going wrong. It never ends when you’re dealing with technology.

Busy looking for publishers for the graphic novel. Any ideas aside from self publishing and kickstarter are welcome. Sending out to two today.

Ivan is back and things are just about to explode so stay tuned:

https://greetingsfromkarpland.wordpress.com

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and Circe, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in LGBT, LGBTGO, Poetry, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

