Say Goodbye To The Whitney Biennial…And Why I Decided To Come To Dilsberg…

IMG_4293Well I guess I’ll never have to worry about trying to get into the Whitney Biennial. Seems as if they decided to hand over a floor of the their building to some of the big galleries on a rotating basis. The Whitney Biennial was the most famous and now it seems as if they have gone the corporate route and joined the art fair circuit. Looks as if since they have the money and personal space, they can create their own continuing art fair. I’ve been watching the way the art world is going for some time now and although this is a major blow,but in some ways it doesn’t surprise me. A gallery I was in for a few years recently closed due to the fact that they couldn’t keep up with this new market. Galleries (with money) renting huge spaces like the Armory, The Javits Center, etc., dividing into cubicles and showcasing art. Something very elitist and wrong about this. The question I ask is why are we dividing art the same way we are dividing our housing? Is there no hope for “the little guy” anymore?  I’m waiting for the backlash. Biennial Cancer as well as Condo Cancer is now on it’s way to completely eradicating our culture. Hopefully other countries will not follow this shameful example. Are we too late and should we continue to study art? Reminds me of what is happening at Pratt as well. Taking something that isn’t broken and trying to fix it.

https://hyperallergic.com/195315/whitney-museum-replacing-biennial-with-program-devoted-to-art-galleries/

Now on a much lighter note (I just had to blog about that because it infuriates me), our show here in Dilsberg is coming up. I predict it will be awesome. Our paper run to Heidelberg yesterday was a success. I managed to find some similar to what I’m used to working with. After our show I decided to use my time here to continue to flush out the rest of the book. Hopefully I will make enough progress to have more to show publishers. It’s a lot of work but that’s why I’m here. It’s a good opportunity to sort things out and get ready for the next phase, which unfortunately will not be submitting to the Whitney Biennial, which they are now calling “The Whitney Perpetual.” Fucking sin!!!

Also yesterday we stumbled across Heidelberg’s student prison. Here are 2 guys kissing, or something to that effect:IMG_4285

http://europeforvisitors.com/germany/heidelberg/heidelberg-student-prison.htm

It was a great surprise and a lot of fun.IMG_4278

And I posted another drawing I did yesterday in my new sketchbook. It’s on the other blog:

http://greetingsfromkarpland.wordpress.com

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and Circe, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in LGBT, LGBTGO, Poetry, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

