Tenant Blacklist and Life Outside of Manhattan…

rent_is_too_damn_high_img

Airbnb is good in theory but apparently not in practice. I considered Airbnb when I went off to Germany. I figured I could make a few bucks. Upon further investigation I was told that I would really need to be around and not on the other side of the globe. So I opted not to use them. Also decided not to sublease either. Went with my gut, Glad I did:

http://ny.curbed.com/archives/2015/05/28/renter_claims_airbnb_orgy_has_rendered_him_homeless.php?utm_campaign=issue-37382&utm_medium=email&utm_source=Curbed+NY

This tenant blacklist thing is rather new. I remember years back there was no such thing. Now with high rents, greedy landlords and territorial neighbors, we have established yet another category to put people into. Unfortunately you have to continue to watch your ass and stay out of Big Brothers way. This is what happens when people start feeling desperate because of the globalization of the housing market. I remember when artist housing was first created in the city. The haves hung onto their lairs and harassed people who sublet, room mates, visitors, etc. I lived in WestBeth for a short period of time and instead of feeling part of an artist community, I was made to feel like a leper. I think money and owning property does that to people. Brings out the worst. Sort of like a lioness protecting her cubs, but the cubs aren’t really being threatened. Anyway time marches on and the lions of Westbeth have grown old. I don’t know if their children can inherit their apartments if they don’t live there since they are rentals.

Here is another solution to the housing problem:

http://ny.curbed.com/archives/2015/05/27/report_says_nonrich_people_should_just_leave_manhattan.php?utm_campaign=issue-37343&utm_medium=email&utm_source=Curbed+NY

Again I bring up the question if we get rid of all the color (by color I mean people that actually contribute to our city and society rather than buy it), how will this make NYC an interesting place to live? There are just so many restaurants one can brunch at and so many expensive venues one can attend. I went to the Whitney last week and it was so homogenous, it was embarrassing. A beautiful building in what was once The Meat Packing District and dangerous as hell. I lived not too far from where the Whiney stands today and there were streets you had to avoid, otherwise you took your life in your hands. But again that was a relatively long time ago. Again read the comments at the end of the article. I wonder where some of these people are coming from.

2)-lookahead copy

Now onto art. As predicted Manhattan is dead. All the interesting things are happening in the outer boroughs and artists are moving out:

http://artfcity.com/2015/05/27/a-summer-without-manhattan/

My friends Tom D’Angelo Chaz Hampton just opened a gallery, Brick And Mortar, Eastern, Pa.

http://www.mcall.com/news/local/easton/mc-easton-brick-mortar-20150528-story.html

Ivan is back…Stay tuned…

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and The Poster Reads; ACTIVE SHOOTER EVENT, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in Animation, Art, Gallery, graphic novel, Jersey City, LGBT, LGBTGO, Poetry, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

