More Art or Just About Art And A Bit Side Tracked…

botleft

I continue to work on the oversized drawings of my graphic novel: Greetings From Karpland. If you have been following the blog you will know that there have been many developments in Karpland and drawing it out large scale is a little time consuming especially since I went back to work. The drawings serve as both an installation as well as a book.  It’s fun and but there is a lot of planning involved. So much so that I invested in 2 pads of tracing paper so I can design properly.  I’m also writing it as I go along so developing both at the same time is an challenging but interesting process. This is the continuation of my residency in Dilsberg and as I keep promising, I hope to complete it by the end of the summer, get it edited and off to the publisher.

Ran across some interesting articles in ARTFCITY:

http://artfcity.com/2015/06/12/your-kid-did-do-this-brian-belott-at-247365/

It’s all about kids art that has been appropriated.Sounds interesting and I’m sure it’s worth looking at. I have to say I used to be quite the art snob when it came to shows like this, but living in todays world has shifted my thinking. I still believe there should be a certain esthetic to what the artist is trying to convey, but then again the message is a huge part of it as well. My only argument is who are these kids and have they been given credit? But read the article it makes sense and  Also the concept is pretty cool. The show closes tomorrow and artist Brian Belott seems like a very organized and passionate person.

The Wassaic Project sounds like a good place to do a residency:

http://artfcity.com/2015/06/18/gloom-doom-and-glory-at-the-wassaic-project/

http://wassaicproject.org

And Pussy Riot is at it again. You have to give them credit. Let’s hope they can keep it up. I think their high profile is what is saving them from being shipped off to Siberia. I wonder if Russia still ships subversives to remote work camps. Probably:

http://artfcity.com/2015/06/12/today-pussy-riots-nadya-tolokonnikova-was-detained-by-police-for-performance/

Also save the date: July 11th, 7PM.

at Berl’s Poetry Shop:

126A Front St, Brooklyn, New York 11201

Nicelle will be reading and I will be showing the motion videos.

Just had to post this:

http://ny.curbed.com/archives/2015/06/17/mapping_the_rental_crisis_new_yorks_poorest_families_face.php?utm_campaign=issue-37818&utm_medium=email&utm_source=Curbed+NY

I’m trying to concentrate on life in general but reality keeps rearing it’s ugly head. I talk mostly about New York and how unaffordable it is, but here in Jersey City I can see the vultures looming over us. They have already taken over downtown and are making their way up. Mayor Fulop (BTW, thanks for the birthday card) seems to be on board with allowing big business to take over. As a matter of fact it seems to me that urban developers find a plot of land and just build without taking the needs of the community into consideration. A good example is Berry Lane Park. They are building this park across the street and have not taken certain things into consideration. For instance, the park will not be gated, the flood lights face our building, only 100 cars will be accommodated for parking, the grounds will be mostly cement which makes for pretty bad accidents if one is playing ball. I heard they are putting down astro turf as well. Berry Lane Park is built on a “former” chromium dump. Something like 40 thousand tons were dug up and removed only to be shipped out west somewhere and unloaded onto some Native American reservation. We were told that there will not be enough police presence but there will be cameras. So when a crime is committed we will know who did it. I am trying to shift my energy to a more positive place and not put negative energy into the universe, but this to me is just plain stupid. At the community meeting questions could not be answered properly and when the police chief came and said they were severely understaffed, it was embarrassing. When I was younger I was told to do the best job you can. When I entered the work force I learned very quickly that this wan’t always the case. Crazy world we live in. But here is a nice photo of the Empire State Building taken from the new Whitney:

IMG_4479

Ivan is back…

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and Circe, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in Animation, Art, Brooklyn, Dilsberg, Gallery, graphic novel, Jersey City, LGBT, LGBTGO, Poetry, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

