A Very Dave Christmas

Dave's Corner of the Universe

pooper scooper barbie

My daughter Dru was born, male and originally named Dexter and is transgender and I love her very much. When I tell stories about her childhood, I refer to her as Dexter and as he. This is a reference to the event happened in her childhood, and is in no means done as an insult or slight.

Like any self-respecting father I have concerns about the image that Barbie presents to young women. So I was concerned when my daughter Emma, ten at the time said that she wanted a Barbie for Christmas. Stammering I tried to explain why Barbie may not be the best role model for a young women. Emma sensing the nature of my fears Emma explained “It is OK daddy, Barbie is a scientist.”

So I set out to look for scientist Barbie. Now like most years in the past, I put off Christmas shopping until…

View original post 233 more words

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and Circe, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in Science Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

