Affordable Schlock…

Marta106

Above collaboration with Marta Wapiennik.

This has been a weekend of art:

Thursday night opening at Gallery Lelong in Chelsea, The Guerrilla Girls show. Couldn’t find a link to the show but it’s pretty cool. High brow gallery. This show is with seeing.

Went to the Affordable Art Fair Friday night. They should have called it the Affordable Schlock Fair. I felt like I was in a very expensive Wall Mart, (ugh!! What would Ivan say?) So much really bad art. Usually at these things you see someone or gallery that you know. I didn’t come across anyone. This show was so bad I can’t bring myself to offer a link to their website.

Yesterday I managed to get over to MOCCA.  Many years ago I started attending MOCCA. Throughout the years it has gone through its changes. Recently The Society of Illustrators took over. It now has a larger venue and the quality of the artist venders is much more polished. So now that the fair has stepped up a notch, I have to say it was really good. The Society curates the show which is both good and bad, but now that the standards are a bit higher, we all have something to aspire to.

One exciting thing I came across at MOCCA is the fact that were a ton of women artists exhibiting. I think within the next few years we will see a shift in this male dominated field. It will be exciting to watch.

More about the primaries: Ted Cruz who most people have compared to Hitler, has crossed the Trump threshold of having crazy supporters. Again this to me is so embarrassing. My childhood was pretty dysfunctional but as an adult I think I ironed out most of my behavioral kinks.

Stay tuned…

 

 

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and The Poster Reads; ACTIVE SHOOTER EVENT, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in Animation, Art, Dada, Film Festival, Gallery, graphic novel, LGBT, LGBTU, Mixed Media, New York, Science Fiction, SF becomes reality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Affordable Schlock…

  1. S Flood says:

    Love the piece! Hope you are doing well. One question. What does MOCCA stand for?

    Sandra Flood

    >

  2. cherylgross says:

    Museum of Cartoon and Comic Art. Comic may come before cartoon.

Leave a Reply

