Life, Debt and Elephants…

NoPoemBabyElephants

Above: Illustration that assists no written text.

It’s been a stressful week in terms of school. The powers that be are in the process of changing everything. And when I say everything…I MEAN EVERYTHING. So I am taking my own advice and staying tuned to whatever challenges that will occur. Hopefully all minds will remain intact and life won’t become too much of a shit show.

I’m catching up and gearing up to visit friends and family in Ft. Myers, Florida. Should be fun, restful and interesting. If I miss blogging next week it’s because I won’t be taking my computer. I’m used to working on my laptop but I’m trying to cut down on dragging my life along on this vacation. I think chilling and contemplating the meaning of life are in order.

I believe the chapbook Nicelle Davis and I collaborated on is done. Since I will be away and our dead line is the 15th, I threw in an extra drawing just in case she decides to write another poem. I’ve just seen the PDF and I have to say it’s a very powerful book. Stay tuned for more on that.

Brain Pickings Weekly is one of my favorite Sunday morning websites. They review and excerpt children’s books, poetry, artist insights, etc. I often buy books based on reading their reviews.  Here is one by Ben Shahn on nonconformity.

Art fairs have become the way most galleries are going. For the most part you reach a huge amount of people in a short period of time. There usually is an entrance fee unless a gallery gets a block of free tickets. If you are a member of MOMA, a discount is offered to Frieze. The link talks about how galleries are recouping their costs by splitting it with their artists. Again, we are looking at art as a commodity and reserved for the elite. Thank you ARTFCITY for the articles.

Went to the Debtfair protest at the Whitney last Friday. Many artists read their statements. It was interesting and at the same time depressing, but very important.

IMG_7398

Stay tuned for more….

 

 

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and The Poster Reads; ACTIVE SHOOTER EVENT, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in Animation, Art, contemporary art, Dada, Gallery, graphic novel, LGBTU, Mixed Media, Poetry, Science Fiction, SF becomes reality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

